The Zoological Parks Authority Board is the governing body of the Zoological Parks Authority and is comprised of eight members appointed by the Environment Minister. 

The Board meets regularly and carries out its responsibilities in line with the Zoo's Code of Conduct and the Zoological Parks Authority Act 2001.

Board members

Ms Marion Fulker AM, Chair

Ms Marion Fulker AM is the current Chief Executive Officer of the Committee for Perth, an Adjunct Senior Research Fellow at the University of Western Australia and a board member of Infrastructure Australia. Ms Fulker is the former Chair of the Conservation and Parks Commission and the Heritage Council of WA, bringing strong knowledge of infrastructure, governance, urban renewal and transport, and is one of the nation's leading experts on the development of cities.

Mr Alex Lamond, Member

Mr Lamond has combined a formal engineering/science educational background with an applied business management focus. His continuing formal studies have included an MBA from Melbourne Business School, and Graduate Diplomas in Applied Finance and Investment and Business (Marketing). Mr Lamond has had hands-on CEO, senior executive and leadership experience in a range of appointments and is currently an Executive Director at ERGT Australia (a national safety training specialist for the Oil & Gas industry), with responsibility for finance and business development functions. He is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has served on a number of public, private and government boards. Mr Lamond was appointed to the Zoological Parks Authority Board as Deputy Chairperson on 2 August 2019 for a three-year term expiring on 31 July 2022.

Dr Harriet Mills, Member

Dr Mills is a wildlife ecologist with over 20 years’ experience in terrestrial vertebrate research. She has worked as a Lecturer in Conservation Biology at Edith Cowan University, and she was an academic at UWA for over 15 years, teaching in various units in Zoology, Conservation Biology, Agriculture and Science Communication.  Harriet's PhD research was on the reproductive biology, ecology and genetics of the Dibbler (Parantechinus apicalis) and much of that work was done in the first few years of the establishment of the Dibbler breeding program at Perth Zoo. Current research interests include vertebrate ecology, pest management and dasyurid life history. Dr Mills was re-appointed to the Zoological Parks Authority Board on 25 November 2019 for a three-year term expiring on 30 April 2022.

Mr Brad Geatches, Member

Mr Geatches has over 30 years of senior executive experience in underground mining, airports and seaports, including 16 years as CEO of four corporations.

From 2007 to 2016 Mr Geatches was CEO of Perth Airport Pty Ltd and in that capacity lead a $1.1bn capital investment program that greatly expanded the airport’s capacity and transformed the customer experience.  Prior to this, Mr Geatches was CEO of Cairns Port Authority which owned and operated the Cairns airport and seaport.  Through these capacities Mr Geatches has developed deep expertise in governance, financial and risk management, land use and infrastructure planning, capital development and life cycle asset management of complex facilities with high levels of public engagement.

Mr Geatches is currently CEO of MATES in Construction, a not for profit organisation providing mental health and suicide prevention services to the construction and mining industries.  He is also Chairman of Carers WA and a Director of Strategen Environmental Pty Ltd.  Mr Geatches was re-appointed to the Zoological Parks Authority Board on 25 November 2019 for a three-year term expiring on 31 October 2022.

Ms Davina Bester, Member

Ms Bester is a registered Architect and Interior Designer with 15 years’ experience in both commercial and residential projects.  She currently runs her own dynamic studio, Milieu Creative, in Perth where her practice specialises in delivering design excellence across a range of project sectors.  Ms Bester’s ability to strategically derive the brief and masterplan for projects enables her to clearly understand the aspirations and project goals to deliver successful design outcomes in architecture and design.  Prior to establishing her own studio she worked at HASSELL Studio as an Associate, leading design projects in Perth, Singapore, Hong Kong and Bangkok; and in the UK at KSS Design Group in education, stadia and retail design.  Ms Bester was re-appointed to the Zoological Parks Authority Board on 2 August 2019 for a two-year term expiring on 30 March 2021.

Mr Jamie Fini, Member

Mr Fini is experienced across the property and finance sectors and has been the Managing Director of FJM Property since 2015.  Prior to joining FJM Property, Mr Fini held roles in both investment banking and property.  He holds a Bachelor of Laws (Hons) and Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Melbourne and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Mr Fini was appointed to the Zoological Parks Authority Board on 30 August 2019 for a two-year term expiring on 29 August 2021.

Megan Keep, Member

​​​​​​​Ms Megan Keep brings a wealth of philanthropic knowledge. She has more than a decade of experience in fundraising, philanthropy and community relations.

Page reviewed 05 May 2022