The eight board members of the Swan River Trust are appointed by the Environment Minister. It brings together expertise in conservation, natural resource management, recreation, tourism, planning, development and matters of interest to rural and Noongar communities.

The eight Trust Board members are:

Mr Hamish Beck(Chairman)

Mr Beck is Managing Director of Beck Advisory, a property development advisory and asset management business. He was formerly a Board Member of the Art Gallery of Western Australia, Chairperson of the Art Gallery of Western Australia Foundation, Chairperson of the Property Education Foundation, Division Councillor of the Property Council of Australia, Board Member of the Architects Board of Western Australia, Chairperson of the Curtin University Property Studies Advisory Committee, Member of the University of Western Australia Urban and Regional Planning Advisory Committee, Member for the Rottnest Island Marine Advisory Committee and Rear Commodore of Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club. Mr Beck was appointed to the Trust Board in June 2011 and as Chairman in June 2014 and reappointed in 2017 and 2018.

Dr Joanna Pearce (Deputy Chair)

Dr Pearce is currently a lecturer in Tourism and Hospitality Management at Edith Cowan University. Her experience and skills include social research with a focus on nature based tourism, providing policy for the National Parks Advisory Committee in Victoria and preparing technical reports for government departments and industry on natural resource management issues. She has held various teaching roles at Murdoch and Notre Dame Universities and has a Bachelor of Science in Conservation Biology, a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Science (Hons) and a Doctorate of Philosophy. Dr Pearce was appointed to the Trust Board in August 2017. Dr Pearce was appointed Deputy Chair of the Trust in July 2018 and reappointed for another year.

Ms Vanessa Davies

Ms Davies is an Aboriginal woman who has traditional links to the Wongai and Noongar people in Western Australia. She has comprehensive executive management experience in government relations, justice, employment, training and education, health, community and Indigenous relations. In 2000, Ms Davies completed a postgraduate Masters Degree in Management and Leadership at Curtin University. Ms Davies was appointed to the Trust Board in December 2009 and reappointed in 2012 and 2015 for another three years.

Mr Peter King

Mr King is Director, Port Development with the Pilbara Ports Authority. He has held senior positions in other State Government agencies, including the Department of State Development and the Department of Agriculture, with several overseas postings in the Middle East. Mr King has more than 35 years’ experience across government and private sector encompassing large project management, state approvals processes and land use planning. Mr King has a Bachelor of Science (Hons) from the University of WA. Mr King was appointed to the Trust Board in October 2016 for a three year term.

Cr Sara Saberi

Sara Saberi (BSc EnvMgmt, GradDip EnvHlth) is a City of Canning Councillor, and is currently employed as an Environmental Health Officer with the City of Armadale. Cr Saberi has held various positions as a volunteer with environmental organisations and has been an active member of the community through local landcare groups. She was appointed to the Board in 2018.

Ms Jacquie Stone

Ms Stone is the Director, Policy and Projects for the Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage. Ms Stone has over 24 years’ experience as an urban planner and has worked in Victoria and throughout Western Australia. She has diverse experience in strategic and statutory planning in senior management roles. She was appointed to the Board in 2018.

Ms Jo Wilkie

Ms Wilkie is the Principal at Jo Wilkie Consulting, working in organisational development, business development and cross-sector partnerships with government, community and corporate bodies. For over 18 years, Ms Wilkie worked at Lotterywest as a Grants Manager with primary responsibility for the portfolio of Big Ideas (State-wide Initiatives). She was appointed to the Board in 2018.

Ms Marenée Provost

Ms Provost commenced her career as a Primary School teacher in Victoria. Upon moving to WA in 1986 she joined the public service with the Department for Community Development (Department for Child Protection and Family Services) where she subsequently worked for 21 years culminating in the roles of Director for Capacity Building; and Director Accommodation Services. In these roles Marenée had considerable experience working alongside Aboriginal communities across the state. She transitioned into the Disability sector as General Manager Community Services and subsequently Executive Director Hillroyd project at Ability Centre. Marenée recently retired from Ability Centre after 10 years service. She was appointed to the Board in 2018.

Board meeting dates

The Swan River Trust Board usually meets on the second Tuesday of each month.

The meeting dates until the end of 2020 are:

  • 11 February 2020
  • 10 March 2020
  • 7 April 2020
  • 12 May 2020
  • 16 June 2020
  • 21 July 2020
  • 11 August 2020
  • 8 September 2020
  • 13 October 2020
  • 10 November 2020
  • 8 December 2020
Page reviewed 06 Mar 2020